close

March 28, 2022

Health

Alaska state marijuana guide for newbies 

Alaska State has some of the best Anchorage Dispensary.  And with that, you need to have a guide of the dos and don ts when buying marijuana from the Alaska dispensaries.

What you should do

If you are 21 years and above, you are allowed to carry and buy up to an ounce of marijuana. You can receive as well as give up to an ounce for free. But there are some places in Alaska where you are not allowed to have marijuana such as some private properties and national parks.

Retail shops lowdown

Cannabis stores are opened in several communities in Alaska from Anchorage to Fairbanks, Sitka, and Juneau. All you have to do is to carry your ID with you as Alaska laws require that the business has to check it out. Some do two checks. Each shop tends to be different, but the marijuana will be on a counter behind and the budtender will be the one who will help you in picking out what you want.

It is possible to look and smell at the product but you will not be allowed to touch it. In Alaska, they have a proliferation of products, and thus, you are free to choose from the capsules to the edibles, to the regular old flowers to the topicals, remaining some of the best sellers in stores.

The majority of the stores do have their latest menus online – prices for the grams are normally in the range of $10 to $20. It is normally cash only with some stores having ATMs where you can do the withdrawals as the budtenders like to receive tips.

The state does not try tracking the information of customers, but certain shops have a point-of-sale inhouse system where they have customer appreciation benefits and they will ask for your name plus other information.

Driving and marijuana

No state law states that you need to transport marijuana in a particular way in your vehicle. When you are in Anchorage, the law states that you have to carry marijuana in your car trunk. In case the car doesn’t have a trunk like with the hatchback, it requires that you carry it behind the seats on the last row. Under the city law, it is required to be behind in a container that is sealed and has not been opened.

If you are stoned and you end up driving, you are likely to get a DUI. The law enforcement goes by the standard sobriety tests, deciding whether you are considered impaired together with other different observations as well as evidence. If you are suspected to be drug-impaired, there is a drug recognition officer who will be called to do a further evaluation as per the Anchorage police.

read more